A Curse So Dark and Lonely Book Review

Posted January 29, 2019 by Jordann @thebookbloglife in 4 star, book reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely Book ReviewA Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury YA on 29th January 2019
Genres: YA
Pages: 496
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.
Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.


Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely was a book that I received from Netgalley and it was one of the books I was really looking forward to reading. Some of my favourite books are fairy tale retellings and this one has such a cool twist. I actually really loved the fact that there was a modern take on some of the story but that it didn’t overtake the story.

I think it might be best if before I start gushing about how great the book is I should talk about one of my biggest issues with the book and with Harper. This is just a small complaint but it was one that I noticed and it was one that stuck with me. She forgot her family! Like really forgot her family, and this wasn’t just any ordinary family they were in dire straits when she left. It really impacted the way I saw her and her interactions in A Curse So Dark and Lonely. I wanted to like her as a character but it was a huge obstacle and reason behind my disconnect with her.

Now I say I had a disconnect with her as a character but that for once didn’t seem to impact my reading and enjoyment of A Curse So Dark and Lonely. I love Rhen’s and Grey’s relationship. I love the flaws and the hardships that they face and how they deal with them. I definitely enjoyed the dynamics, because I think it’s important that the hierarchy seemingly hadn’t disintegrated between the two of them. Which I haven’t seen before in a relationship between a prince and his subordinate, they are usually best of friends and the lines are blurred.

I have to say something about the setting and the way that the modern was used and switched between was really interesting. It was something A Curse So Dark and Lonely did really well. I think it took me by surprise if I’m honest, it’s not something that I have seen done well in other books. So it was nice to read a book that did it well.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely was definitely a book I really enjoyed and I completely recommend reading it! The characters are rich and the setting is well written. I also really loved the politics that were interwoven throughout the story and the plot line.

Will you be picking up A Curse So Dark and Lonely? Or have you read any really good fairytale retellings? Let me know in the comments!